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This outline has been lightly edited to include some minor corrections and to reflect some questions and answers during the discussion.
Brief Background and History of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act (SDA)

- “shall issue” concealed carry licensing statute 

- adopted in 1995; licensing began in early 1996
- over 107,000 SDA licenses have been issued in the last five calendar years

- only 30 revocations for criminal conduct in those five years

- an additional 85 suspensions in those five years for felony arrest; unknown how many of these yielded convictions

- media often report that 8% to 10% of Oklahoma’s adult population has a felony conviction record; Tulsa World (Mar. 6, 2011) reported 8.5% of Oklahomans had a felony conviction 
- thus, I estimate that SDA licensees are (conservatively) at least ten times more law-abiding than the state's population at large.

Option One:  Improvements to Concealed Carry Under the SDA
- versions of reforms A. through E. were included in HB 2134 from last session, which ultimately fell dormant

A.  Adopt a More Realistic Definition of "Concealment"  follow Texas law


OK law (some sections): “fully concealed from detection and view” (§ 1290.26)

TX law: “the presence [of the handgun] is not openly discernible to the ordinary observation of a reasonable person” (Tex. Gov. Code § 411.171(3))
B.  Decriminalize Unintentional Failure to Conceal by Licensee  follow Texas law


OK law: generally criminal for SDA licensee to carry any unconcealed handgun

TX law: only illegal for licensee to “intentionally fai[l] to conceal the handgun” (Tex. Penal Code § 46.035)

- perhaps “willfully” or “deliberately” rather than “intentionally”?
C.  Clarify Status of Posted Private Property  follow Missouri law

OK law: unclear; cf. § 1277 (Unlawful Carry); §1290.22 (Business Owners’ Rights).
· parking lot law (§ 1290.22.B): first enacted 2004; finally took effect in 2009; then supplemented in last session by enactment of HB 1652

MO law: carrying by licensee on properly posted private property is not criminal, but licensee who refuses to leave the premises after being  asked may be issued a civil citation for up to $100 for first offense (Mo. Rev. Stat. §571.107.2).
D. Repeal or Decriminalize "Failure to Notify" Provision (§ 1290.8.C)  follow majority of states.  Both Texas and Utah have eliminated penalties for “failure to notify” in the last four years.

OK law: Crime, punishable by jail time, for SDA licensee (but not for a non-
licensee) to fail to notify LEO of their handgun upon “first com[ing] into contact” with the officer.  Potential for “no win” situations with conflicting requirements on licensees in a high-intensity police stop.

29 SDA licensees have had their licenses suspended for “failure to notify” 
in the past five years; unclear what other penalties may have been applied 

The potential penalty in Oklahoma for a licensed carrier who merely “fails to notify” is actually more stringent (90 days in jail) than the potential penalty for an unlicensed carrier who is convicted for illegally carrying a handgun (30 days).  §§ 1276; 1290.8.C.

In most states: Failure to notify is not a crime.  The matter is left to the common 
sense of officers and licensees.  The officer is always free to ask if the licensee is 
carrying.  (In many jurisdictions it would be illegal for the licensee to give a 
false answer.)
E. Clear Up the Preclusive Effect of Arrests on SDA Eligibility 
OK law: No felony arrest is preclusive after “final determination of the matter,” yet some misdemeanor arrests are preclusive for 3 years after final determination – apparently even if the licensee is acquitted or charges are dropped!  (§§ 1290.11.A.10, A.11)  
(Arrest – mere probable cause; Conviction – beyond a reasonable doubt) 
No arrest should be preclusive unless a conviction for the charged crime would be preclusive.  In all cases an arrest should have no preclusive effect after the final determination of the matter.  (If convicted of a preclusive crime, then the conviction will “take over” exercising a continued preclusive effect.) 
F. Revisit Prohibited Places?


- "metal detector" criterion?

- elementary & secondary school parking lots – currently criminal for SDA licensee to have concealed handgun there, §§ 1277.A.4, B. (unlike other prohibited places’ parking lots) -- remember that many people's churches are also elementary/secondary school buildings


- federal Gun-Free School Zones Act of 1995 (successor to invalidated 
GFSZA of 1990)

G. Fee Structure?


- $25 to Sheriff; $100 to OSBI (5 yr) / $200 to OSBI (10 yr)


- $60 for the required 8 hour class


- $85 to OSBI for 5 yr renewal / $170 for 10 yr


= $185 and one day's time for initial 5 yr permit; thereafter, $85 for each 5 yrs 

H. An Additional Suggestion: An Easy Fix to Clear Up Oklahoma Knife Law

 
- repeal vague clause in § 1272.A prohibiting the carrying of any “spring-
type knife,” language that no other state has.  This would clarify the 
legality of common assisted-opening pocket knives, while still leaving the carrying of switchblades illegal

Option Two: Legalizing Open Carry by SDA Licensees
- HB1470 last session -- would have struck "concealed" from SDA; made it simply a "handgun license"

A. Current Oklahoma law on open handgun carry (§§ 1272; 1289.6)
-- while hunting 
-- while engaged in recreational shooting or practicing 
-- but not for self-defense

--  in effect, you can open carry on your private property only if you can legally 
shoot guns on your property (& a few other narrow exceptions for gun stores and the like).  
- where lawful, no permit is needed: possessing an SDA license currently has no effect on legality of open carry

B. Examples of other “shall issue” states where licensees can carry openly or concealed, at their choice: Georgia, Indiana, Tennessee

C. Requiring a retention holster (strap, locking release, or other retention device)

D. An Incremental Alternative - Open Carry by Licensees on their own Property (driveway, backyard) and their Business Premises

E. Necessity of Clear Preemption Language (§1289.24) (should state that otherwise-lawful open carry cannot be deemed disorderly conduct, disturbing the peace, or other offenses against public order)

Option Three: "Constitutional Carry" / Permitless Carry
- HB1400 last session -- would have legalized open carry of handguns by any person age 18 or older who can legally possess a handgun
- see also HB1647 last session

In four states (Alaska, Arizona, Vermont, Wyoming) any adult who can lawfully possess a handgun can lawfully carry it for self-defense, openly or concealed, at his or her option.

In some other states (e.g. Idaho, Kentucky) open carry is constitutionally protected and no permit is required.  In still others (e.g. Alabama, Ohio, Virginia) open carry is generally legal with no permit required.

The Oklahoma Constitution's right to arms provision: Okla. Const. art. I, § 26 (1907): "The right of a citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, or property, or in aid of the civil power, when thereunto legally summoned, shall never be prohibited; but nothing herein contained shall prevent the Legislature from regulating the carrying of weapons."
- early near-nullification by the Oklahoma courts (Ex parte Thomas (1908); 

Pierce v. State (1929)) remains the law today
- how should it have been interpreted?

- SDA’s “shall issue” permit requirement and preference for concealed carry are likely constitutional (at least in their general outlines) under a correct interpretation of the OK right to arms.  This would particularly be true with the improvements suggested under Option One supra.
Revising the Oklahoma right to arms?

Thought experiment – a very rights-protective state constitutional right to arms:

"The fundamental right of each citizen to keep and to bear handguns, rifles, shotguns, and other common arms for security, defense, hunting, recreation or any other legitimate purpose shall not be questioned [by any branch of government.  Restrictions of this right must be narrowly tailored to serve a compelling state interest, and must not frustrate or impair the purposes of the right.]"
PAGE  
1

