House of Representatives

House appoints JCAR members

11/4/2021 12:07:00 PM

The House members on the newly-created Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR) will be the same members on the existing House Administrative Rules Committee, House Speaker Charles McCall, R-Atoka, announced Thursday.

Rep. Tom Gann, R-Inola, will serve as co-chair of the joint committee, made up of members from both legislative chambers as prescribed in legislation enacted last session. 

The House appointments to JCAR are:

  • Rep. Tom Gann, R-Inola, co-chair
  • Rep. Denise Crosswhite Hader, R-Piedmont, co-vice chair
  • Rep. Toni Hasenbeck, R-Elgin
  • Rep. Stan May, R-Broken Arrow
  • Rep. Nicole Miller, R-Edmond
  • Rep. Jim Olsen, R-Sallisaw
  • Rep. Melissa Provenzano, D-Tulsa
  • Rep. Jacob Rosecrants, D-Norman
  • Rep. Wendi Stearman, R-Collinsville
  • Rep. Rande Worthen, R-Lawton

Senate Bill 913 created JCAR to ensure a more transparent and thorough process before state agency administrative rules are approved or repealed.

Gann, who served as chairman of the existing House Administrative Rules Committee, said the joint committee will enhance legislative oversight of executive branch agencies.

“Elected officials set policy for the state, but unelected agency officials too often institute rules that go beyond or are inconsistent with the enabling language set by the peoples' elected officials,” Gann said. "The House has extensive experience through its existing committee at digging into these rules, and we are thrilled to now jointly engage in that process with the Senate. Oklahoma is dramatically strengthening legislative oversight of executive branch agencies, which will produce better government for all."

Committee members and legislative staff are preparing for the joint committee to begin its work soon.


Press Contact: John Estus
Office of House Speaker Charles McCall
Capitol: (405) 557-7439
Cell: (405) 706-0084