House of Representatives

Rep. Ajay Pittman Receives Council of State Governments 20 Under 40 Leadership Award

1/11/2022 3:50:00 PM

Lexington, Ky. – The Council of State Governments was excited to recognize Rep. Ajay Pittman, (D) OKC- House District 99 as a recipient of the 2021 CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award. The Award recipients were honored in December at the 2021 CSG National Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

“The CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award recognizes younger legislators who have shown a commitment to serving their constituents. I am happy to congratulate her on this well-deserved honor,” said Sen. Greg Treat, the  Senate President Pro and current Southern Legislative Conference chair.

This annual honor highlights the outstanding work of 20 up-and-coming elected and appointed officials from across the country who not only exemplify strong leadership skills but have also demonstrated a true commitment to serving the citizens of their states.

“The state officials named to the 2021 class of The Council of State Governments 20 Under 40 Leadership Award represent a broad cross-section of the exceptional leaders that successfully govern our states,” said David Adkins, CSG executive director/CEO. “Those recognized this year come from diverse backgrounds, different political parties, different branches of state government and from every region of our country, but they share a singular commitment to make a difference for those they serve.”

Pittman is described as authentic among both local and national leaders. She proudly holds dual citizenship in America and in the Seminole Nation of Oklahoma- this is a heritage that is important to her.  One goal she keeps at the forefront of her service is to bring awareness to community issues through community partnerships.  As Covid -19 exposed the inequalities between people in northern Oklahoma City, Pittman and other state leaders addressed crises including food deserts, evictions, unemployment, and access to technology.

“I am humbled to represent Oklahoma on a national level, but most importantly I am thankful for the trust that is given to me from the constituents of  House District 99,” said Rep. Ajay Pittman. “Millennial voices are powerful in health disparities, social justice reforms, and education. We are leading in spaces throughout our neighborhoods, state, and nation. We are continuing to stand up for women and children all across America, communities of color, and the next generation of emerging young leaders.

Leaders from across the country including the 50 states, Washington, D.C., and the U.S. territories were nominated for the 2021-2022 leadership award class.

"Representative Pittman has been a leader from day one of her service in the Oklahoma Legislature,” said House Speaker Charles McCall, R-Atoka.  “She has earned widespread respect on both sides of the aisle thanks to her enthusiastic commitment to constituents, collaboration with her colleagues, and service throughout the state of Oklahoma." 

Founded in 1933, The Council of State Governments is a nonpartisan organization that brings state officials together to learn from each other and to craft solutions to today’s public policy challenges.

“The hard-working leaders recognized with the CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award have demonstrated the ability to productively collaborate to achieve consensus and produce results,” Adkins said. “While they may be young, their public service honors the oldest and best values of our democracy.”

To learn more about the 20 Under 40 Leadership Award, visit To learn more about The Council of State Governments, the nation’s only nonpartisan organization serving all three branches of state government, visit

Congratulations to these 20 leaders:

Rep. Jacquelyn Baginski, Rhode Island
Director Cerron Cade, Delaware
Sen. Julia Coleman, Minnesota
Rep. Jeremy Gray, Alabama
Rep. Destin Hall, North Carolina
Sen. Megan Hunt, Nebraska
Assemblywoman Sandra Jauregui, Nevada
Rep. London Lamar, Tennessee
Sen. Cory McCray, Maryland
Rep. Corey Mock, North Dakota
Sen. T’wina Nobles, Washington
Rep. Daniel Perez, Florida
Rep. Candice Pierucci, Utah
Rep. Ajay Pittman, Oklahoma
Rep. Jena Powell, Ohio
Executive Director Patty Salazar, Colorado
Rep. Sean Scanlon, Connecticut
Rep. Jamie Scott, Arkansas
Rep. Ponka-We Victors-Cozad, Kansas
Sen. David Wilson, Alaska